OC World Receives 3 Nominations for the73rd Annual Golden Mike Awards®

February 2, 2023

The Golden Mike Awards® is one of the oldest broadcast journalism awards show in America, and among the most distinguished with top journalists across America appointed as judges. Unlike most awards contests in which winners are determined by selecting which entry is the “best” among all those submitted in each category, winners of the Golden Mike Awards®” must also meet the “Standard of Excellence.”

The three OC World documentaries that were nominated as finalists in the category for “Best Long Form Programming or Documentary” include:

“To Live for the Harvest”
About the impact of COVID-19 on California farmworkers.

“Coastal Crisis”
About how local governments and residents are dealing with
the issue of coastal erosion, and the consequences of inadequate action

“Hope Dies Last”
About the impact of Alzheimer’s disease on California communities,
and the stories of families who find hope in the darkest of times.

All three were produced by OC World, a non-profit multi-media company founded by Scott Hays and Dr. Manuel Gomez.

Special recognition and gratitude goes to OC World’s friends and supporters, including Marisla Foundation, The Keith & Judy Swayne Family Foundation, Orange County Community Foundation, and The Cordoba Corporation.

The awards will be presented by the Radio & Television News Association (RTNA) of Southern California on 25 March 2023 at Hilton Universal. This year’s honorees for Lifetime Achievement Awards include KABC anchor Marc Brown, KNBC reporter Vikki Vargas, and KTTV Reporter Hal Eisner.

Watch live on KCLS.org, or your local KLCS-PBS television station. Click here to find which channel carries KLCS-PBS in your area. Can’t make the broadcast? No problem. Subscribe to our YouTube channel where we will be publishing our episodes shortly after each broadcast.